- Fines and Legal Fees for Florida DUIs
- Additional Expenses of Florida DUI Charges
- Non-Financial Consequences of a DUI in Florida
- Contact a Florida Drug Charge Lawyer for Help
- First DUI
- Second DUI
- Third DUI
- Fourth DUI
- Increased Insurance Premiums
- License Reinstatement Fees
- Ignition Interlock Device
- Jail or Community Service
- Professional License Suspension
- Employment and Higher Education Obstacles
- Fines between $500 and $1,000
- Court ordered ignition lock for up to six months if blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) is 0.15 percent or more, or a minor was in the vehicle
- License revocation of 180 days to one year
- One year maximum probation
- Fines between $1,000 and $2,000
- Court ordered ignition lock for a one-year minimum, two-year minimum if BAC was 0.15 percent or more, or a minor was in the vehicle
- License revocation for a minimum of five years, eligible for hardship reinstatement after one year
- One year maximum probation
- Fines between $2,000 and $5,000
- Court ordered ignition lock for at least two years
- License revocation for a minimum of 10 years, eligible for hardship reinstatement after two years
- One year maximum probation if charged as a misdemeanor, between one and five years if charged as a third-degree felony
- Fines of not less than $2,000
- Court ordered ignition lock for at least five years
- Permanent license revocation, eligible for hardship reinstatement after five years if no prior DUI-related convictions
- One-year maximum probation if charged as a misdemeanor, between one and five years if charged as a third-degree felony
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges will hit your wallet harder than you think. On top of the fines that come with the charge, there are license reinstatement fees, legal fees, and other additional costs.Plus, there is the pain of figuring out how you will find work, transportation, and organize other aspects of your life.
Fines and Legal Fees for Florida DUIs
The fines for Florida DUIs vary according to your situation.
Additional Expenses of Florida DUI Charges
If you are found guilty, you could also see other expenses.
Increased Insurance Premiums
Insurance companies will see you as a higher risk and charge you substantially more for coverage.
License Reinstatement Fees
Getting your license back means you now must pay any fees the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has. If you need to redo the entire permit to final driving test process, you will have to pay a fee at each step.
Ignition Interlock Device
If the state orders an ignition interlock device to be put into your vehicle, it comes at your cost. Prices for the device range from $95-$125, and that does not include the installation and any future repairs.
Non-Financial Consequences of a DUI in Florida
The costs of a DUI aren’t just monetary. If the state chooses, they can make your charge hurt you in other ways.
Jail or Community Service
Depending on your charge, you could go to jail for anywhere from six months to five years. If you cause injury or death, you could face up to life in prison.If you do not end up in jail, you could be ordered to do community service for however long the judge feels is necessary.
Professional License Suspension
Professional licenses for large vehicles and heavy machinery will also be suspended if you are found guilty.To get them back, you will need to go through their respective testing requirements again.
Employment and Higher Education Obstacles
Having a felony DUI charge can limit your employment options. On top of that, if you pursue higher education (technical school, college, or university), you might be denied admission. And if you are admitted, you may no longer qualify for loans or grants.
Contact a Florida Drug Charge Lawyer for Help
If you are charged with a DUI in Florida, you will need an experienced lawyer. Attorney Brett Metcalf, Criminal Defense Attorney, P.A. has helped countless clients get the best possible defense. Contact him at 813-258-4800 or use the online form to schedule a free consultation.